2013 Stefan Pollard Marketer of the Year Award Finalists

On behalf of the DMA/eec Awards Committee, I am excited to announce that we have a winner of the 2013 Stefan Pollard Marketer of the Year award! It was indeed a very tight race.

I hope that many of you will be able to come to EEC13 in Miami to see the winner announced on Friday morning, February 8th.  Our 2013 finalists are… (in alpha order) …. (drum roll please)….

• Ryan Phelan of Acxiom (formerly Blue Hornet)
• Morgan Stewart of Trendline Interactive
• Sal Tripi of Publishers Clearinghouse

Adding to the difficulty in choosing a winner, this year, some of the nomination submissions were simply beautiful tributes.  Many were absolutely in the spirit of the tribute to the late Stefan Pollard. Stefan was an amazing person and a real mentor and educator in our industry – and an active DMA/eec member. Hiring him in 2005 to work with me was one of the best and most rewarding decisions in my career. He made me a better marketer, thinker and I’d like to think even a better person. In this Award, and with the support of the entire DMA/eec community, Stefan’s legacy lives on.

Just a word about how the Award selection is made.  First, we solicit nominations for people who fit the Award qualifications from the DMA/eec community and email marketers at-large.  Nominations are made freely by the nominator – often someone who has worked with the nominee, or has been touched by them.  We then ask our Awards committee to review and vote on their top picks. Every award committee member makes three selections.  We select the top vote winners, and then have a final round of one vote per committee member.  Committee members who were nominated recuse themselves in the final round.  This year, we had a clear winner.

As Chair of the Awards committee, I want to personally thank all of the Committee members for their hard work:  Joel Book (Exact Target); Jack Hogan (LifeScript); Greta MacDonald; Stephanie Miller (DMA); Ryan Phelan (Acxiom); Meg Reynolds (REI, 2012 Awardee); and Sal Tripi (Publisher’s Clearinghouse). (Please know that Ryan and Sal were honestly and enthusiastically nominated by others – and  not allowed to vote for themselves, as much as they wanted to! )

Hope to see you in Miami Beach (swim suits optional)!


Loren McDonald
Chair, DMA/eec Awards Committee and VP, Industry Relations, Silverpop