New eec Leadership Announced

The Email Experience Council (eec), backed by the Direct Marketing Association (DMA), is the premier organization for email marketing professionals. Our annual conference, meetups, webinars, and online resources aim to foster a community of experts seeking to drive excellence and create opportunities for growth in the industry.

leadershipThe eec Member Advisory Committee (MAC) — our board level Committee — is comprised of leaders in the email marketing community that sets the strategic direction and forwards the mission for the entire Email Experience Council.

Today, Len Shneyder and I are excited to announce new appointments to the MAC and to the leadership team that will continue our pursuit of excellence in email marketing that began and flourished under the leadership of Ryan Phelan, the former MAC Chairman.

We’d like to share that after following nearly two (2) years of dedicated professional leadership as chair of our member advisory committee, our friend Ryan Phelan has reached his term limit. In July, he will be stepping down to serve as Chairman emeritus and graciously volunteered more of his time to continue to lead and help us in the planning and membership committees.

Ryan has contributed immeasurably to the eec, and on behalf of the MAC and management team we sincerely thank him for his tireless efforts toward building the organization that we have today. Ryan signed on in the role of Chair to help us develop and drive our strategy. Ryan’s work as chair has helped us to enhance the image of email marketing and communications, while celebrating and actively advocating its critical importance in business, measurement and outright understanding. Ryan has helped us move the eec forward with a clear strategy, new external volunteers and an intensive focus on diversity and leadership. His transition in the coming months will include transferring many key processes and projects, and helping to reallocate his functions and initiatives to an expanding leadership.

In addition, we would like to announce that with Ryan’s departure, Len and I have been elected by the MAC to serve as Vice-Chair and Chair, respectively. We are excited to embark on this journey and continue the mission of the EEC and our predecessors.

Finally, we would like to announce new additions to our leadership team. Please join us in congratulating our newest MAC members:

• Heather Curcio, AARP
• Will Devlin, MessageGears
• Jeanne Jennings, CohereOne
• Justine Jordan, Litmus
• Alyssa Nahatis, Adobe

We are excited to welcome these leaders, representing email marketing professionals from both the brand and vendor side of the industry, to the MAC.

These individuals join our illustrious team of dedicated volunteers that continue their service on the MAC.

The MAC has also approved the following new eec Subcommittee leaders:

  • Chair of Events & Education: Nancy Harris, Sailthru
    – Co-Vice Chairs: Alessandra Souers, JibJab and Alyssa Nahatis, Adobe
  • Chair of Awards: Shanon Strahl, Consultant
    – Vice Chair: Mark Talley, Chase
  • Chair of Membership & Marketing: Jeanne Jennings, CohereOne
    – Vice Chair: Will Devlin, MessageGears
  • Chair of Nominating Committee: Tink Taylor, dotmailer
    – Vice Chair: Karen Talavera, Synchronicity Marketing
  • Chair of 2017 Annual Email Evolutions Conference Committee
    – Karen Talavera, Synchronicity Marketing

Since its inception and formation nearly a decade ago, the EEC’s mission has been to create awareness of an existing set of best practices, and their application, to ensure the health and growth of the digital messaging ecosystem.  This evolution happens in our own programs, but also in this organization. It begins with email, ostensibly the first and most foundational digital channel, and proliferates through the wilderness and excitement of emerging channels and technologies.

We are excited about the momentum the EEC has as the leader in innovation, idea sharing and resources focused on email and digital messaging. We firmly believe it is critical that we remain focused on what we do best: delivering amazing experiences to our membership that in turn manifest as gratifying messaging across a plethora of inboxes, media, devices and platforms. At the end of the day our work here is aimed at benefiting you, whether yourself or your brother, mother, sister, father, daughter, or son; whether you’re standing in line checking email in a coffee shop or navigating through your inbox on the typical workday. We are all, at one point or another in our lives, consumers that take part in a shared inbox experience. As marketers we must work collectively to make that experience the best it can possibly be.

Thank you. Let’s keep our momentum going strong. We encourage you to take an active role in the eec and join one of our subcommittees! If you’re interested or would like to learn more, we want to hear from you. There’s plenty of room and we welcome many diverse voices!

Dennis Dayman
Email Experience Council Chair
Chief Privacy and Security Officer
Return Path

Len Shneyder
Email Experience Council Vice-Chair
Vice President of Industry Relations