2017 eec Award Winners


The Email Experience Council accepted nominations for individuals who represent the best and brightest in the email marketing industry. The eec honors an individual from the brand-side of email marketing who exemplifies the qualities of Stefan Pollard as well as recognizes an individual who has made an incredible contribution from the vendor-side of the business. The eec also created a set of awards to promote and honor stand-out email marketing campaigns. So let’s get on to the WINNERS….

The 2017 eec Stefan Pollard Email Marketer of the Year Award

I am incredibly humbled and honored to win the Stefan Pollard Email Marketer of the Year award. I can only aspire to the kind of leadership and expertise that Mr. Pollard brought to our email community, and I am thrilled the work that I do out of passion and love is deserving of praise by the eec, the DMA, and my incredible email peers.

Genevieve Longtin

Director of Email Marketing and Engagement of Sharecare

The email marketing programs Genevieve implemented at Sharecare resonated greatly with the subcommittee members. Genevieve was chosen for her innovation and resourcefulness in doing more with less and driving revenue and engagement through her work. The work Genevieve has accomplished and is performing — is a wonderful representation of what we all aspire to achieve.

The 2017 eec Stefan Pollard Email Marketer of the Year Finalists:

  • Kristin Bond, Senior Email Marketing Manager; Girl Scouts of the USA and
  • Itay Rahat, Sr. Director, Fan Engagement & CRM Platforms; Warner Music Group

Past Stefan Pollard Email Marketer Winners:

  • 2016 — Jeanne Jones, Alaska Airlines
  • 2015 — Alessandra Souers, JibJab
  • 2014 — Zack Notes, Uncommongoods
  • 2013 — Sal Tripi, Publishers Clearing House
  • 2012 — Meg Reynolds, REI
  • 2011 — Loren McDonald, IBM Marketing Cloud

The 2017 eec Email Marketer Thought Leader of the Year Award

I’m so honored to be recognized by my long-time peers in this industry. Challenging the status quo as a thought leader is not always a popular thing, but I made a commitment long ago that the collective value of many minds far surpasses my own, and strive to be a catalyst of ideas and new thinking without self promotion. I want to thank eec and my peers. We are a small industry with a ton of great innovations coming our way and this means a lot to me and those supporters, readers, peers and friends who have helped shape our industry and myself.

David Daniels

CEO & Founder of the Relevancy Group

David’s vast experience and tenure in the email marketing community resonated greatly with the subcommittee members. David was chosen for his leadership, market research and advisory services in the digital marketing community. Additionally, David’s personal characteristics, passion and investment in email marketing are in the spirit of Stefan Pollard.
This year’s finalist is Ryan Phelan, Vice President, Marketing Insight; Adestra.

The eec Email Program Awards

The 2017 eec Email Program Awards: This set of awards was created to promote excellence in email marketing by showcasing the impact that email has in the marketplace and within organizations. Its impact is seen in its ability to assist in the achievement of larger organizational goals while also demonstrating innovative thinking in communication and content. And most importantly, these awards feature email campaigns and programs that make us excited and proud of the work being done in our industry

2017 Program Award Winners:
  • Aspen Dental

    Best Makeover of an Existing Email Program

    Mark Anderson – Aspen Dental, Assoc. Director of Patient Relationship Management
    Ethan Tangerini – Epsilon, Relationship Manager
    Lauren Castady – Epsilon, Principal Art Director

  • Alaska Airlines

    Most Innovative use of Customer or Other Data, including Automation and Triggers.

    Jeanne Jones – Alaska Airlines, Director of Customer Communications, Loyalty Marketing

  • Nestle Waters North America

    Best Subscriber Acquisition, Reactivation or Integration Program

  • Lysol Mommy Mail

    Best Use of Humor, Personality, Content or Brand

    Marcus Liwag, iris Worldwide
    Oliver Chapman, Reckitt Benckiser

The awards were presented during a special celebratory luncheon honoring the individual and group award recipients at the Email Ev olution Conference, on May 2, 2017 in New Orleans.


EEC Awards Subcommittee Leaders: Mark Talley, Shanon Strahl and Loren McDonald present individual awards to Genevieve Longtin (2017 Pollard Award Winner) and David Daniels (2017 Thought Leader Winner).





Congratulations to our Program Award Winners — Alaska Airlines & Aspen Dental/Epsilon.