2016 eec Award Winners

Background and Purpose

The Email Experience Council accepted nominations for individuals who represent the best and brightest in the email marketing industry. The eec honors an individual from the brand-side of email marketing who exemplifies the qualities of Stefan Pollard as well as recognizes an individual who has made an incredible contribution from the vendor-side of the business. New this year, we are excited to announce a new set of awards to promote and honor stand-out email marketing campaigns.  So let’s get on to the WINNERS….

The 2016 eec Stefan Pollard Email Marketer of the Year Award

Jeanne Jones
Director of Customer Communications, Alaska Airlines

“I am honored to be recognized by the eec. This recognition is a testament to the hard work of my team to do the right thing for the customer while supporting the business and leveraging emerging technologies.”

The email marketing programs Jeanne implemented at Alaska Airlines resonated greatly with the subcommittee members. Her deep technical knowledge, eye for creative, strong analytical bent, and commitment to revenue growth and optimization were key factors in her selection. Additionally, her personal characteristics are in the spirit of Stefan Pollard. She was recognized for being extremely knowledgeable in this space, yet willing to always try something new both for the good of the consumer and the business.

2016 recipient Jeanne Jones joins an illustrious group of previous honorees…
2015 — Alessandra Souers, JibJab
2014 — Zack Notes, Uncommongoods
2013 — Sal Tripi, Publishers Clearing House
2012 — Meg Reynolds, REI
2011 — Loren McDonald, Silverpop, An IBM Company

The 2016 eec Stefan Pollard Email Marketer of the Year Finalist:
Greta MacDonald, ServiceMaster

The 2016 eec Email Marketer Thought Leader of the Year Award

David Baker
Co-Founder, COO; Cordial.io

“I’m so honored to be recognized by my long-time peers in this industry. Challenging the status quo as a thought leader is not always a popular thing, but I made a commitment long ago that the collective value of many minds far surpasses my own, and strive to be a catalyst of ideas and new thinking without self promotion. I want to thank eec and my peers. We are a small industry with a ton of great innovations coming our way and this means a lot to me and those supporters, readers, peers and friends who have helped shape our industry and myself.”

David was recognized as an innovator and technological visionary. The subcommittee found his ability to assess, visualize, and execute fundamental ideas into actionable, measurable successes distinguished him as a clear-standout in this category. He is a recognized speaker, writer and pioneer in the email marketing and digital space. Additionally, his personal characteristics are in the spirit of Stefan Pollard. David is recognized for selflessly giving and supporting hundreds of marketer and insiders. Chair of the eec Awards Subcommittee, Loren McDonald — “I’m confident that Stefan would have never been prouder were he alive today, to hear that you won this great honor — eec Email Marketer Thought Leader of the Year award.”

David follows in the footsteps of previous award winners: Justine Jordan of Litmus and Dennis Dayman of Return Path.

The 2016 eec Email Marketer Thought Leader of the Year Finalists:

David Daniels, The Relevancy Group
Matt Vernhout, Inbox Marketer

The eec Email Program Awards

Email Program AwardsThis set of awards is new this year and was created to promote excellence in email marketing by showcasing the impact that email has in the marketplace and within organizations. Its impact is seen in its ability to assist in the achievement of larger organizational goals while also demonstrating innovative thinking in communication and content. And most importantly, these awards feature email campaigns and programs that make us excited and proud of the work being done in our industry

The eec Awards Subcommittee reviewed and voted on 45 submissions across all categories. The eec Awards Subcommittee selected winners based on the highest number of votes received in each category. If a category had less than 3 submissions then it was moved to an “open category” for review and vetting. The open category included submissions from the following three categories: Best Use of Animation or Video; Best Use of Responsive or Mobile-Friendly Design; and Best Use of Email to Support Another Department. The entry that received the most votes won in this open category.

The 2016 eec Email Marketing Program Awards go to:

  • EaseMyTrip: Best Use of Humor, Personality or Content
    • Avadhoot Revankar – Email Marketing Head, netCORE
      Mayank Tomar – Sr. Email Marketing Consultant, netCORE
      Rikant Pitti – Co-founder & Chief Innovator, EaseMyTrip.com
  • Litmus: Best or Most Innovative Integration with Another Channel
    • Justine Jordan – VP Marketing, Litmus
  • Hallmark Baby: Best Subscriber Acquisition Program
    • Laura Madden – Email Marketing Strategist, DEG
  • Detroit Pistons: Most Innovative use of Customer or Other Data
    • Jason Scott – Manager, eMarketing, Palace Sports & Entertainment
  • Wyndham Hotels & Resorts: Best Makeover of an Existing Email Program
    • Michael Bonser – Sr. Mgr, Email Marketing, Wyndham Hotels & Resorts
  • Plow & Hearth: Best or Most Innovative Use of Automation or Triggers
    • Shauna Plesmid – Online Marketing Manager, Whereoware
  • JibJab: Open Category – for Best Use of Animation or Video
    • Brendan Gamache – Email Marketing Manager, JibJab
    • Alessandra Souers – Senior Brand Manager, JibJab

The awards were presented during a special celebratory luncheon honoring the individual and group award recipients at the Email Evolution Conference, which was held March 30 – April 1, 2016 in New Orleans.